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Organization

Contact

Description

Behavior Principals
and Strategies

(for use by DDA
licensed providers
only)

Developmental Disabilities
Administration, Department of
Health & Mental Hygiene
410-767-5631

This program provides staff training and train-the-
trainer training. The train-the-trainer process is free,
unless the person requires additional critique
observations.

Training program for direct staff requires 2 full days of
training. Four hour refresher training is required
annually.

Therapeutic Crisis
Intervention/Cornel
| University

Martha J. Holden
607-254-5210
Mjh19@cornell.edu

This program provides a 5 day train the trainer course.
Maximum trainer to trainee ratio is 1:10. Trainers must
pass a written exam with a minimum of 80%,
demonstrate a life space crisis interview and
demonstrate all physical skills without safety violations.
They are also required to attend a 1-2 day update and
pass a written exam every two years to remain
certified.

Cost: $1425 per person initial; $550
recertification.

301 West Preston Street, 15" Floor - Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410-767-4160 - Fax 410-333-5248 - www.goc.state.md.us
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Training for direct care staff is 24 hours and requires
six hours of refresher training every six months. All but
6 hours of the training are concentrated on positive
behavior interventions and non-physical crisis
intervention. Maximum trainer to trainee ration is 1:10.
All components of training required by COMAR
14.31.06.15 are included except for documentation,
which would be a provider specific training. A new
protocol to be published in January 2009 eliminates the
use of prone restraint.

MANDT

Simon Kemp
1-800-810-0755

Simon@mandtsystem.com

This program provides a 5 day train the trainer course.
Trainers must pass a written exam with a minimum of
100% and demonstrate all physical skills. Maximum
trainer to trainee ration is 1:22. Recertification every
two years requires the trainer to teach at least 1 time a
year, pass a written test and demonstrate proficiency in
physical skills. Cost: $1175 per person initial

Training for direct care staff is 18 hours, requires a
score of 100% on a written test and requires eight
hours of refresher training every year. Maximum trainer
to trainee ration is 1:20 for verbal, 1:10 for physical.
75% of this program is devoted to crisis prevention and
de-escalation. All components of training required by
COMAR 14.31.06.15 are included. This program uses
only standing restraints.
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Managing
Aggressive
Behavior/University
of Oklahoma

Jean Carpenter-Williams
918-660-3700
Jcarpenter@ou.edu

This program provides a 5 day train the trainer course.
Maximum trainer to trainee ratio is 2:12. Trainers must
pass a written exam with a minimum of 80% and
demonstrate non-verbal/verbal blending and all
physical skills. Recertification every two years requires
the trainer to teach at least 3 times a year, complete
12 hours of continuing education year and submit a
sample of training evaluations to the University for
review. Trainers are also required to register in a
central database.

Training for direct care staff is 16 hours, requires a
score of 80% on a written test and requires six hours of
refresher training every year. Maximum trainer to
trainee ratio is 1:12. This program focuses on trauma
and uses an interactive approach to dealing with
aggressive behavior. All components of training
required by COMAR 14.31.06.15 are included. The
program does not use prone restraint and a new
protocol to be published in 2009 eliminates the use of
seated and kneeling restraint. Only standing restraints
will be used.

Tact 2

(for use by DHR and
DJS licensed
facilities only)

Steve Parese
336-593-3533
SBParese@aol.com

This program provides a 4 day train the trainer course.
Trainers must pass a written exam with a minimum of
88%, co-teach a demonstration lesson on verbal and
physical interventions and demonstrate ability to
perform all physical skills. Maximum trainer to trainee
ration is 1:18 for verbal, 1:12 for self-protection, and
1:6 for restraint. Recertification requires six hours of
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refresher training annually and to teach at least 1 time
a year.

Cost: Initial Certification: 1-2 persons $699 each,
3+ $599 each, Recertification: $149 each.

Training for direct care staff is 20 hours, requires a
score of 80% on a written test and requires six hours of
refresher training every year. 75% of this program is
devoted to crisis prevention and de-escalation. All
components of training required by COMAR 14.31.06.15
are included. This program eliminated the use of prone
restraint in July 2008. A module on trauma will be
incorporated in January 2009.

Safe Crisis
Management/JKM
Training

Joseph Mullen
717-960-0457

jmullen@jkmtraining.com

This program provides a 5 day train the trainer course.
Trainers must pass a written exam and demonstrate
non-verbal/verbal blending and all physical skills.
Maximum trainer to trainee ratio is 1:20. A 2 day
refresher course is required annually for recertification.

Cost: Initial Certification: Public seminars, $899
per person; private/onsite, $7500 + expenses for
up to 20 participants. Recertification: Public
seminars, $219 per person; private/onsite, $3000
+ expenses for up to 24 participants.

Training for direct care staff is 18 hours, requires a
score of 90% on a written test and recommends 14
hours of refresher training every year. Maximum trainer
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to trainee ratio is 1:16. All components of training
required by COMAR 14.31.06.15 are included.

Cost: Onsite training only, $4500 + expenses for
up to 18 participants.

Right Response

Steven Seiller
800-896-9234
totem@servalt.com

This program offers a 4 day train the trainer course.
The course covers prevention, de-escalation, post-
vention and physical safety and intervention. Materials
include manuals, workbooks, videos and an instructor
reference manual and video. Trainers are required to
recertify every two years. Individual staff must pass a
test with a score of 80%, demonstrate competency in
the use of Right Response interventions and recertify
annually.

COST: $1999 for Advanced Instructor training.
There are no cost options for recertification.

Non Abusive
Psychological &
Physical
Intervention
(NAPPI)
International

David B. Farrell
800-358-6277 ext 13
david@nappi-training.com

Trainer Training: This program provides a 5-day train
the trainer course. Trainers must pass a written, oral
and physical exam to be fully certified as a BESST level
trainer. A 2-day refresher course is required annually
for recertification. Cost: Initial Certification public
seminars, $1299 per person; Recertification public
seminars, $699 per person. Private on-site certification
and recertification’s are available, with a minimum of
13 participants.

Direct Training: Training for direct care staff is 16-20
hours, requires a score of 80% on a written, verbal and
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oral test and requires 8-10 hours of refresher training
every year. Maximum trainer to trainee ratio is 1:12.
This program covers four aspects of working with
potentially aggressive behavior: assessment &
prevention, creating a culture where violence is less
likely to happen, self protection skills, and manual
restraints. All components of training required by
COMAR 14.31.06.15 will be included in Maryland-based
trainings.

Crisis Prevention
Institute Inc (CPI)
(Approved

Aaron Hardt
414-979-7060

info@crisisprevention.com

Nonviolent Crisis Intervention® Training (NCI): The
Nonviolent Crisis Intervention ® program, developed by
the Crisis Prevention Institute (CPI), not only teaches
staff to respond effectively to the warning signs that
someone is beginning to lose control, but also
addresses how staff can deal with their own stress,
anxieties, and emotions when confronted with these
challenging situations. 4-day Certification - $1529, 3-
day Renewal - $549, and 3-day Recertification - $699

Nonviolent Crisis Intervention® Hybrid Training
(Supplement to NCI): Take a self-paced web
component and a focused classroom session and blend
thoroughly. The result? A new delivery option that can
be used for first —~time Nonviolent Crisis Intervention®
training participants as well as for refresher training-
with real, tangible benefits to you, your learners, and
your organization.
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This gives unlimited access to the web-based
component, a real time DVD, Instructor Orientation,
Instructor Basics, and Free Hybrid Instructor Seminal
led by CPI Professional Staff Instructors. Ultimately,
this will cut down classroom time to get certified in
Nonviolent Crisis Intervention®. - $399

Therapeutic Options
(Approved

Michael Partie
302-753-7115

mpartie@therops.com

This program provides a four-day Train-the-Trainer
course. Instructors must recertify at a one-day
workshop at the end of the first year, and every other
year after that. Instructor candidates must pass a
written and practical skills test.

Cost: $900 for initial certification - $500 for
recertification. $9,000/$5,000 group rate for up
to 14 individuals, plus travel cost for master
instructor. Positive practices discounts are
available. See website for details.

Training for direct care staff is 13-16 hours, depending
on group size. All components required by COMAR are
included. This program contains both standing and
supine restraints as options. Agencies are not required
to teach restraints in order to implement this program.
Therapeutic Options is a trauma-informed system that
provides comprehensive strategies for preventing
aggression that is founded on relationship development
and positive behavior support.
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Professional Crisis
Management (PCM)

Laraine Winston
Phone: (954) 746-0165
Iwinston@pcma.com

PCM is an advanced system of crisis management
based on applied behavioral science from the
Professional Crisis Management Association (PCMA), an
international training and consulting organization whose
experts have been providing crisis management
training for over 25 years. PCM focuses primarily on
prevention before a crisis occurs. PCM includes Crisis
Prevention, Crisis De-escalation, Crisis Intervention,
and Post-Crisis Intervention. PCM utilizes competency-
based training and evaluation methods to enable
participants reach the highest level of skill acquisition.
PCM can ensure successful prevention and intervention
with maximum safety, dignity and effectiveness. For
those seeking additional training in non-physical
prevention and positive behavior support strategies, the
PCMA Behavior Tools Courses are the perfect
companion to PCM, or can be used as a stand-alone
training program.

All PCMA training programs and services incorporate
these guiding principles at all levels.

They are:

¢ Human beings have a basic right to humane and
dignified treatment.

e Human beings have a right to safety and freedom
from pain.

¢ Human beings have a basic right to freedom of
choice.

e Using the least restrictive, effective alternative is
critical to safety and success of individuals.
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e Teaching and support strategies must be as
positive, pro-active and non-coercive as possible.

e Teaching and support strategies must utilize
proven principles of effective behavior change,
such as continuous feedback, behavioral shaping,
and fading of cues and assistance.

PCM is unlike any other crisis management system in
existence.

SAFETY-CARE™
Behavioral Safety
Training

info@QBSCompanies.com
(866) 429-9211

The Safety-Care™ Behavioral Safety Training program
provides a skills-focused, cost-effective alternative to
traditional crisis curricula. Based upon an applied
behavior analysis foundation, Safety-Care provides
participants with prevention, minimization, and
management skills applicable and appropriate to every
population and setting.

With a strong focus on competency- and evidence-
based ABA de-escalation strategies, participants leave
the training with strong prevention skills, behavior
change strategies, as well as competency in safely
managing most behavioral crises. The Trainer training
course is 3-days. Trainers must pass a written exam as
well as demonstrate competency in Safety-Care’s
unique set of trainer skills. Maximum trainer to
specialist ratio is 1:10 per class. Trainer Recertification
is required annually.

Trainer Training is $8,500 per Organization, or
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$850 pp at QBS’s Boston training center. Specialist
(non-trainer) training requires a minimum of 12 hours,
a written exam and demonstrated competency all
Safety-Care skills. Specialist recertification is annual. No
additional cost for training materials - certified trainers
are provided with a CD to reproduce specialist manuals
and training materials. Specialist Certification /
Recertification fee is $4 per person.
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