Skip to Main Content

Maryland Youth Advisory Council


“I wanted to join the Maryland Youth Advisory Council because I believe that the voice of youth matters in creating change…the perspective of youth today is uniquely distinct from the voices of our parents and grandparents, and any opportunity to let that voice be heard is an opportunity I am willing to take.” Gabrielle Shlikas, senior at Edgewood High School and second-year member of the Council.

If you want to be a change-maker in your community, apply to serve on the Council. Click here for the application and to learn more. Application deadline is July 1, 2018.


The Maryland Youth Advisory Council was established through the State legislature (Chapter 559, Acts of 2008Chapter 69, Acts of 2009, and Chapter 620, Acts of 2016) in order to ensure that Maryland youth are given the opportunity to provide feedback and recommendations regarding public policies and programs that affect their future and to take a leadership role in creating meaningful change. Council members must be 14-22 years of age (as of September 1, 2018 for those applying for the 2018-2019 cycle).  Members must serve a one year term (September 1 until August 30) and cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.


As a coalition of diverse young advocates and leaders from across the State, the Maryland Youth Advisory Council addresses relevant issues by influencing legislation, spreading public awareness and serving as a liaison between youth and policymakers.


The Maryland Youth Advisory Council strives to be an effective voice that:

  • Incites change for the betterment of Maryland youth,
  • Ensures equal opportunity for all youth regardless of background or circumstance,
  • Initiates political conversations with youth,
  • Educates youth on political issues, and
  • Is respected by legislators and other stakeholders on youth issues.

Council members are appointed by the:

  • Governor of Maryland
  • President of the Maryland Senate, and
  • Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates.
  • Governor’s Office for Children appoints council members nominated by the:
    – Maryland Association of Student Councils,
    – University System of Maryland Student Council,
    – Maryland Higher Education Commission Student Advisory Council, and
    – Association of Local Management Boards.


Chair: Darius Craig, Baltimore City
Vice-chair: Caroline Larkin, Baltimore County
Secretary: Nabila Prasetiawan, Frederick County
Legislative Committee Chair: Grace Wu, Montgomery County
Public Awareness Committee Chair: Emily Dreszer, Anne Arundel County

2017-2018 Meeting Schedule:

November 4, 2017
December 16, 2017
January 20, 2018
February 10, 2018
March 17, 2018
April 24, 2018
May 5, 2018
11:00 am – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

All Council meetings will be held at 100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032 unless otherwise noted. All meetings are open to the public.


Christina Drushel Williams, Policy Analyst, at or 410.697.9242.

For meeting materials and the Council’s annual reports, please visit the Maryland Youth Advisory Council reports’ page.